How to Get Promoted in Less than Four Months; Davy Liu and Kendu Films, and the San Antonio Film Festival!


A few months back in March, I mentioned starting a new job. Upon being at that job for three months and ending my 90 day probation, I was approached by a man from another department. The department was recruitment; basically, I’d be hiring people on behalf of another company. I was approached again by another male from the department and again was offered to apply for the position, so I did, interviewed two times, then got it. Now what did I do to get promoted in four months- not even four months really since I started March 8?

Make a hard question simple: I went above and beyond!

Now what were those steps?

1.) Doing more than the status quo!

I can’t speak for everyone’s job because it varies from industry but my job has stats, and a quota we have to meet each week, regardless of the position or department. In my department, me and one male co-worker were the best.

We were broken up into teams with different supervisors. We, the male co-worker and I, were so good at our positions that our stats were always perfect. The supervisors would even fight over us because they all wanted us on their team.

If you work for a company that requires weekly stats, do more than what they’re asking.

2.) Smile and be happy!

Having a positive attitude goes a long way. When everyone sees you smiling, saying hi to co-workers, even the ones not in your department, getting to know those who are new, it makes an impression. It shows people you’re social yet professional. If there’s drama in the office, you shrug and move on.

3.) Help!

If you’re free and not busy, instead of going home early or asking to go home, offer to help others. Not only will you be taking a load off another, but you’ll be collaborating and socializing with them so as the business can achieve its goal.

It doesn’t matter in what order you do these three steps, but do them. You will see a difference in your work environment and how others view you. As a result of these three steps, me and the male co-worker both received promotions even though we’ve been at the company for less than four months! Of course, we also got raises!

The San Antonio film festival and What Went Wrong!

(SA Film Fest 2018)

I also mentioned I was going to go to the SA Film Festival. The goal was for me to network in regards to design, art, and animation. I even went to one of their (free) panels which featured David Liu. A man who worked for Disney and was apart of animation productions like The Lion King, Beauty and the Beast, and Mulan.

Seeing him was the highlight of the festival, and the main reason why I went since I love cartoons and the process of animation so much! Below is some of his animated work and current, future project:

Nonetheless, the festival was shadowed over by the fact the VIP passes were $169.00. It was advertised on their website that you will have access to all the panels, you will get free food and water, you will get free merchandise, etc. Well, none of that happened. This is the email I sent to Adam who ran the film festival:

Hello there, I was wondering what the tickets were supposed to get us?

My VIP badge didn’t have my image on it even though I sent my image in prior to the deadline.
It was said all panels were accessible for VIP; however, all the panels were free for everyone.
I was under the impression I’d have access to free water and food, not just during ‘mingle’ hours. No, I had to pay for water….pay…3$ for water…in Texas heat…even with VIP badge.
It was said the award ceremony would be accessible via VIP; again, the award ceremony was free for everyone. 
Was informed of free merchandise for VIP. Only received a tote bag with paper in it. I was told I had to pay for everything else. 
The volunteers were mostly lost and confused except for two. One was a male who often wore a cowboy hat, with black rim glasses, silver loop ear rings in each ear. The other was a female, black long straight hair and black rim glasses who sat with with a laptop. Those two were very helpful…the others…were not.
I suggest the VIP be lowered to 75$ or 125$ but 169$, did not seem worth it to me even with the ‘mingle’.
Davy Liu was a treat. Glad y’all had him!
Thank you and kind regards…

This festival has been around for 25 years yet it lacked organization, truth, and just over all excitement. It makes sense SA is so far behind in the arts compared to their neighboring city, Austin.

Leave a comment